Hartley News Online Your alumni and supporter magazine

Reigus Chair Lecture

Clock icon indicating time

Inaugural Annual Regius Chair lecture delivered by Professor Dame Muffy Calder.

Register nowArrow icon indicating left


Join us either in-person or virtually for this hybrid event hosted by the University of Southampton.


1700-1720 – Arrival refreshments

1720-1730 – Welcome with Professor Deborah Gill and Professor Dame Wendy Hall

1730-1830 – Lecture

1830-1900 – Drinks & canapés reception

Virtual attendance

If you are unable to attend in person, we will send a link to join virtually 1 day before the start of the event.

Further information

If you have any questions regarding this event or require further information, please contact the Web Science Institute at


30+ years of modelling communicating systems – what did I learn?

I published my first paper on modelling telecoms protocols in 1989. Since then, the applications and techniques I have considered have changed over time, and so have I. Using six example applications, from 1989 to 2022, I reflect on how my research in theory, models, and tools for communicating systems has evolved, on what I have learned, and some challenges and issues we might think about in the future.

About the Speaker

Professor Dame Muffy Calder is Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering and a Professor of Formal Methods. Her research is in modelling and reasoning about the behaviour of complex software and biochemical systems using computer science, mathematics and automated reasoning techniques. She has been a Royal Society Leverhulme Research Senior Fellow and held a Royal Society Wolfson Research merit award and a Suffrage Science award in Computing Science and Mathematics.

She is Principal Investigator of the EPSRC Programme Grant: Science of Sensor System Software, a member of the Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology, UKRI-EPSRC Council and REF 2021 Main Panel B, chair of DCMS Science Advisory Council, and chair of the BCS School Curriculum and Assessment Committee.

Her previous roles include: Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland, Dean for Research in the College of Science and Engineering, Head of Department, Chair of UKCRC (UK Computing Research Committee), Senate Assessor on University of Glasgow Court, member of EPSRC TOP (Technical Opportunities Panel) and co-chair of the Scottish Science Advisory Council.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and the British Computer Society and was awarded an OBE in 2011 and a DBE in 2020.

Register nowArrow icon indicating left